What does it feel like to be… Part 2. British!

It’s only so natural that the more the people – the more the ideas! Isn’t it what brainstorming can be all about? And crowd-sourcing?

I’m going to do PLN-sourcing, then, and again!

Like I did once, here – and it got me incredibly inspired (and 3rd time published on an exctremely local scale))!

Feb16

Fantastic shares, contributions from all over the world, thoughtful, sincere, differing, controversial – JUST like people themselves (diversity, huh?=))

Finally, the education can get personal. The pages of our course units can spring to life and speak different voices – authentic voices. YOUR voices!

Seriously, I have this feeling more and more often, I realize how lucky I am and most importantly – my students are. Since we have the chance, not so often offered in our context, to learn from PEOPLE, not from paper and ink. I feel it very acutely when I start sharing some phrases I”ve learnt thanks to you (caught smth here or there in a blog, lurking through my Twitter stream, etc). By learning myself all the time, I can literally feel it I”m giving them better quality teaching. And then we’re learning together, which is the key idea of my perspective on my own teaching style.

So much for contemplation)

I promoted the idea to use real native speakers’ response in our Country Studies Culture units, and luckily it was positively welcomed.

 So here I am, addressing you once again!

 

What does it feel like to be British? What does it mean to you?

 

Share your views, whatever they are, spread the word, and this can help Russian students (and maybe many others as well – since this is an open blog!)) get to know the sense of “Britishness” first-hand! What a good thing to do, isn’t it?!=)

 

Thank you!

 

4 thoughts on “What does it feel like to be… Part 2. British!

  1. annloseva says:

    <html><body bgcolor="#FFFFFF"><div>Interesting, Chiew! Why don’t you still have an interview with yourself at iasku?! It would be great to listen to your story, for everybody, I’m sure!</div><div>Many thanks for being the first to comment here, and sorry for making you wait ages for a comment back))</div><div><br></div><div></div><blockquote type="cite"><div><div style="width: 600px; font-size: 12px; font-family: Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif; line-height: 18px;" class="PosterousEmail"></div></div></body></html>

  2. […] by the results! In my two posts, “What does it feel like to be American” and “What does it feel like to be British” I challenged my PLN by asking them, British and American natives, to share their views on this. The […]

  3. I like that there’re many contemporary words in native speakres’ respones)

    • annloseva says:

      You’re right, Dima. You won’t come across some of these words in any course books for English learners =)

Leave a Reply

